The Miniaturist – Jessie Burton

miniaturistA few weeks ago my friend made my day by sending me a book in the post.  It was so lovely of her, she sent a sweet note and my face broke into a HUGE smile.  Sometimes it’s the small gestures that mean the most!  She had been reading the book and suddenly thought I’d enjoy it and so amazon was called in to service and tada I received a brand spanking new copy of my own all the way in Dubai.

When I began reading it I saw why she felt so compelled to share this book.  It’s the same reason I sent a copy to my mother and why I am writing this review.

EVERYONE should read this book, it’s beautifully written and compelling and I could not put it down.  I stayed up late reading it and had long baths just for the excuse to read more and more.  I devoured it and was sad to finish it.  I am hoping Jessie Burton is chained to a typewrite somewhere writing her next book…metaphorically obviously!

The problem with reviewing this book is that it would be all too easy to ruin the magic which would be too sad.  The basic premise is that a poor Girl (Nella) from a previously wealthy family enters into an arranged marriage  with a wealthy merchant (Johannes) in 1686 in Amsterdam.  His sister and staff and dogs also live in the house and all these characters add a lot of depth to the over all feel of the book.

You only need to read a couple of chapters to realise that there is a lot more to all this than meets the eye.

The reason for the title is that Nella receives a Dolls House replica of her own house from Johannes and enlists a Miniaturist to furnish said item.  It is from this moment on that things just go from strange to surreal.

Honestly though I already feel I have said too much, get yourself a copy and send one to a friend and please share your thoughts.  I’ve made it easy for you, just click on amazon and you’re ready to buy!

I’d love to know if you enjoyed it or if you think I over sold it!

2 thoughts on “The Miniaturist – Jessie Burton

Leave a Reply

