Just be kind!

be kindI have hesitated about posting this, but I do think that the world would be a better place if people were kinder and more considerate.  Here is my take on it in any case!

The world is full of good people, but also unfortuantely some bad apples too.  There are those who are always smiling and who want to make the world a happier place.  Then there are those who seem to care only about themselves and to hell with the consequences.

Today I got a harsh lesson in the latter sort of person.  My friend who is considering moving here is meant to be having a job trial this weekend and was scheduled to fly out tonight.  Imagine her surprise when they said she didn’t need to come and that they had given the job to someone else, this morning!  Only hours before she flew!  The fact that someone can do something like that and not even apologise baffles me.  How can anyone not realise that they have messed someone around and treated them badly?  Or maybe they do realise and don’t care, this is probably even worse to be honest!

I am VERY lucky that she’s an amazing friend and is now coming on her own dime to see me and I know just how incredible and generous of her that is.  Somehow that almost makes it worse, why is it that it always seem to be my loveliest friends who get kicked by life?  Now I do know not getting a job trial isn’t the end of the world, there will be more and she had a lucky escape not to work with these people.  It just seems so unnecessary that they treated her like this.  It wouldn’t even cross her mind to behave this way!

You can change someone’s whole mood by being nice. I got to work yesterday and I hadn’t slept well and had nearly missed my bus and was just generally a bit ‘meh’. Suddenly in front of me appeared my lovely colleague who had bought me a bracelet from the Phillipines because she saw it and thought I would like it.  I couldn’t believe it! That display of thoughtfulness gave me so much joy and she couldn’t even see what a big deal it was that she had not only bought me something but something that I really love. To know that she cared enough to do that made me perk right up!

On days like today where you see the ugly side of people I just have to remember that the world is full of good people (Thanks to Mother Mands for reminding me of that in her lovely message!) Also as my grandmother would have said, ‘Don’t let the b**tards get you down’ believe me in a cute Belgian accent that sounds quite adorable rather than profane, even still the message is true!

To all of you I hope you only run in to the best of people today, for sure you deserve it!

happy

11 thoughts on “Just be kind!

  1. Tara says:

    Goodness, your poor friend! Did the company not even offer to pay for her ticket? I think that’s very harsh. I agree with you too, there should be more kindness in the world.

    Like

    • widerangingramblings says:

      No they didn’t – they just didn’t seem bothered at all!! I am glad you agree with me about the kindness thing, when you see how some people are lovely in the face of adversity it does make you wonder how anyone can fail to be kind! Xx

      Like

  2. Mother Mands says:

    I’ve just been having a lovely chat in the supermarket to an old lady, discussing how to cook salmon 😀 Cheered me up!

    As I’ve got older I have no time or patience for those people who have no respect or as you say, simple kindness for others. Those who drain all the happiness out of you, just cut them out of your life, easy, no need to worry why they are like they are, or exact revenge on those who have hurt you. Don’t waste precious time on them! 😉

    Like

    • widerangingramblings says:

      It’s such a boost when a random stranger takes time to help you out isn’t it! I agree, it’s best to just cut people who don’t add anything. Someone said there are two types of people, radiators and drains and it really is so true. I now just cut any drains out of my life and save my time for the good people in my life!

      Like

Leave a Reply

