Saintly St.Regis Saadiyat Island

This Friday marked Bond turning 29 (finally we are the same age again!) after he threw me such an epic birthday weekend I decided he deserved the same and so I whisked him away to Abu Dhabi for the weekend.  Having done my research I decided that the St.Regis on Saadiyat Island would be the perfect spot to spoil Bond rotten and make him feel special.  Saadiyat Island is relatively new and is gorgeous, the beach is stunning and the sea is really blue.  The St.Regis has the reputation of being fabulous with exemplory service.  My colleague stayed there and said it was wonderful.  As we drove there I was really hoping it would live up to my expectations.

When you drive up the place is beautiful, you instantly feel that it’s special and I knew I had made a good choice!  A fleet of uniformed staff greeted us at the door and took our bags and the car off our hands. Then on arrival at concierge we were greeted with genuine delight from the lady at the desk.  We soon realised she was pleased as she had rather a nice surprise for us – an upgrade to a suite!  We couldn’t believe our luck! The suites come with Butler service too, a perk I have never enjoyed before.  Our butler was a delight and brought everything you could ever want.  My best moment was asking for camomile tea bags and instead having him arrive with a tray with ready made camomile tea and gorgeous china which he then poured for us.  Honestly it was possibly the most decadent tea ever.  Also TWG is delicious, it may just compete with the Mariage Frere tea I mentioned before.

Before we went to the room we decided it was time for lunch.  Olea is the buffet restaurant and the food was delicious with a lot of options, plus we had a table with a fantastic view of the sea.  Having devoured lots of lovely food, including some delicious cakes we headed up to the room.

We couldn’t believe how stunning it was, honestly it was perfection beyond words!  Also we had the most amazing view from our balcony loungers.  I can’t really find the best way to describe it so luckily Bond took pictures so you can all get a feel for the place!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Having taken in the full room we headed down to the spa.  I had booked us both a massage.  Bond had a full body sports massage and I had a detox body scrub and full body massage.  It was beyond luxurious, I would go so far to say it was the best treatment I have ever had and Bond agreed.  What was really nice was having the whole place to ourselves.  I was very happy sitting in the Jacuzzi alone with nothing but Glamour for company (they segregate by gender here).

After the spa we retired to the room to relax and get ready for dinner.  I had organised champagne for us to enjoy and the hotel organised a cake for Bond as well.  It was really lovely!  Bond ripped into his gifts and said he was delighted with all of them!  I was really pleased as I had spent ages choosing them all! Thanks to the lovely concierge who had sent me a list of cool local restaurants, dinner took place at Caramel, it’s a cool restaurant serving American gourmet cuisine.  Thanks to a friends recommendation we ordered the kobe chilli beef and chips, which was totally delicious. Then I had Kobe bolognaise and Bond had Kobe beef sliders, then for desert they brought over strawberry cake with a candle and the most beautiful writing ever!  It tasted as beautiful as it looked!  I was so impressed by the service too, the waiter was delightful and attentive without being overly so and they all made a fuss over the birthday cake too.  That sort of thing always makes me happy!

The next morning we indulged in the fantastic hotel breakfast, I couldn’t believe how much choice there was.  From savoury to continental to Indian options and an egg station I was blown away!  We both tried a bit of everything and it was all extremely good.  I had a waffle drowned with nutella which was probably my highlight…naughty but oh so nice!

Thanks to a late checkout at the hotel we were able to enjoy the pool as well, it really was beautiful.  The deep blue tiles made the water look so appealing and at certain areas there were specially designed dips where you could sit by jacuzzi jets.  It was blissful.  Bond had an iced coffee and I had a peach iced tea before we accepted that we really did have to check out…

All in all it was a perfect weekend away.  I totally recommend the St.Regis Saddiyat island and we are already planning our next trip!

4 thoughts on “Saintly St.Regis Saadiyat Island

  1. Tara says:

    Happy birthday, Bond! That looks like an amazing trip. I stayed in the St Regis in Rome. I wonder if it’s a brand of hotels? It looked similarly amazing.

    Like

    • widerangingramblings says:

      Bond said thank you for the lovely wishes! It is a brand of hotels, I now wish to stay in all of them across the world. They have totally won me over. I bet Rome was a great trip, I loved my visit there. I hope all is well! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

