Success at the Supermarket and Fun Films!

On Thursday I had to go to the supermarket to get some basic supplies for the weekend.  Now I thought this would be a simple mission as I didn’t have much to get.  Anyway I turned up and realised as I can’t park I would have to find a space that I could get into…naturally said space was miles away from the entrance!  Also once I got in I realised that I had parked badly and had to re-do it.  Honestly at one point I nearly drove over to the valet service and just made it their problem!  Then I decided I am supposedly a grown up and that I must learn to fend for myself…so eventually I found a space with no other cars near it and decided it would have to do, even though it was in fact miles away from the mall entrance!

Once I had braved what felt like an epic hike through the carpark in 40 degree heat (it was two minutes in reality) I finally made it to Geant.  Whoever chose said name obviously knew what they were up to, as it is a Giant store of French origin.  It is also built like a maze and I spent a lot of time getting lost.  Eventually I managed to get all the bits I needed (including Grazia which is obviously vital!) and it was time to head home.  I did vaguely consider just abandoning the car, or coralling someone to move it for me but then decided I had managed to park and that I would have to be just as grown up and get back out of the space and so off I headed back to said automobile. Imagine my look of delight when I realised that no one had parked in front of me so I was able to just drive straight out!  Please keep your fingers crossed that this always happens for me!

Having escaped Geant I met Bond to have take out and movie night.  We watched ‘Hot Pursuit’ which I definitely recommend.  It was really very funny and Sofia Vergera and Reese Witherspoon did a fantastic job!  I definitely empathised with Reese who is short as I am also vertically challenged.  If you want an easy watch then definitely do check this out!  I am really enjoying this new genre of films with women playing strong lead roles.  If you do watch and enjoy ‘Hot Pursuit’ then I definitely recommend ‘The Heat’ which is a similar style of film with Melissa McCarthy and Sandra Bullock, both of whom excel as ever in their performances.  In fact watch anything with Melissa McCarthy, she is too funny!

Last night we went to dinner at the Counter where I was very virtuous and had the vegan veggie burger which was delicious! Bond of course had a beef burger and a milkshake.  He is quite the milkshake fiend since moving here! Then it was time to see Minions 3D, a film I have been keen to see since it came out.  I love those little creatures, they make me smile and laugh out loud.  Bond made me promise to see ‘Mission Impossible’ because Minions didn’t really appeal to him, but in the end he had to admit that he really enjoyed it.  The whole thing is totally ridiculous, it’s the story of how the Minions came to work for Gru (of Despicable me 1 and 2) and it’s not a straightforward path.  It seems that Minions like to work for Villains and so we watch as they attempt to find the perfect boss…I won’t tell you too much because it will spoil it but there is an attempted theft of the Queen’s crown which is hilarious!  If you’ve seen Despicable me 1 and 2 then this is good but not as good as those…but it’s still worth a watch if you fancy a good laugh.  In any case I hope it’s worth sitting through Mission Impossible for…

The rest of the weekend I really relaxed and caught up on some much needed sleep.  I also managed to skype my mother which was lovely.and also amusing as we were both knitting as we talked!  Genetics are a powerful thing!

I hope you’re all having a lovely Sunday!

One thought on “Success at the Supermarket and Fun Films!

Leave a Reply

