Chaotic Cirkapolis

On Wednesday Bond and I met up with our favourite Dubai Couple to celebrate their 10 year anniversary!!  They really are a great pair and we were very happy to celebrate their happiness.  In order to do so we headed to see Cirkapolis at the World Trade Centre.

Cirkapolis was touted as similar to Cirque du Soleil which Bond and I have never seen and have always been keen to.  Our friends siad that Cirque du Soleil was EPIC and so we were very excited to see what this show had to offer.

Cirkapolis is a show done by Cirque Eloize who are a Canadian troupe and the blurb on the site says ‘With Cirkopolis, Cirque Éloize presents a show that combines the worlds of circus, dance and theatre. In the heart of a stern and imposing city in appearance, giant gears and dark portals symbolize a mechanism that crushes individuality. Performing within an inventive stage design and accompanied by an original musical score and video projections, ten acrobats and multidisciplinary artists rebel against monotony, reinvent themselves and challenge the limits of the factory-city. In a world where fantasy provokes reality, the veil of anonymity and solitude is lifted and replaced by bursts of colour.’ and you can read more of what they say the show is about here and you can even watch the trailer.  I would urge you to do so because I saw the show and I can’t even begin to tell you what it was about…

To say that we were disappointed would be an understatement.  There wasn’t the sense of awe and amazement that I had expected.  In fact at times some of the performers seemed surprised that they had managed the moves.  I was impressed because of course I can’t do any of these things but I think attempting to have the plot to go with it actually ruined the effect.  I spent so long trying to work out what was meant to be happening I couldn’t really lose myself and enjoy it.

On a positive note one of the performers was wonderful and did an enchanting dance routine where he danced with the girl of his dreams who was in fact a hanger with a coat and scarf.  There was something rather beautiful and innocent about this performance and I found myself wishing there had been more of this sort of thing.

After the show we all agreed it hadn’t been quite what we were hoping for but that certain elements were impressive.  The evening was saved by heading to our friends house for dinner where I was promptly loaned sweats so I could be comfy with my girlfriend who had rapidly changed as well!

6 thoughts on “Chaotic Cirkapolis

Leave a Reply

